Center-Based Faculty

The UF Center for Latin American Studies has 23 Center-based faculty members and professional staff, and five Emeritus faculty with expertise in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. We encourage you to look through our faculty profiles below.

You may also search the Faculty Geographic Expertise map for faculty based on geographic region.
A list of our Affiliate Faculty can be viewed here.


Carlos de la Torre

Director
Center for Latin American Studies 
319B Grinter Hall
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: delatorre.carlos@latam.ufl.edu
Tel: 352-273-4703
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae


Efraín Barradas

Professor
Center for Latin American Studies
Department of Spanish and Portuguese Studies
364 Grinter Hall
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: barradas@ufl.edu
Tel: 352-392-5235
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae


Emilio M. Bruna

Director, Florida-Brazil Linkage Institute
Professor, Center for Latin American Studies
Department of Wildlife Ecology and Conservation
380 Grinter Hall
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: embruna@ufl.edu
Tel: 352-846-0634
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae


Bob Buschbacher

Associate In and Coordinator, Pan-Amazon Infrastructure Governance Community of Practice
Tropical Conservation and Development Program
Center for Latin American Studies
385 Grinter Hall
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: rbusch@ifas.ufl.edu
Tel: 352-273-4726
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography


Andrea B. Chavez

Co-Coordinator Pan-Amazon Infrastructure Governance Community of Practice and Assistant Scientist
Tropical Conservation and Development Program
Center for Latin American Studies
334 Grinter Hall
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: achavez@ufl.edu
Tel: 352-273-4720
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae


Joel E. Correia

Assistant Professor
Center for Latin American Studies
378 Grinter Hall
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
Email: joel.correia@ufl.edu
Tel: 352-273-4708
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae


Jonathan Dain

Director, Natural Resource Leadership Institute
Lecturer, Tropical Conservation and Development Program
Center for Latin American Studies
388 Grinter Hall
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
Email: jdain@latam.ufl.edu 
Tel: 352-273-4713
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae 


Glenn Galloway

Director and Senior Lecturer, Master of Sustainable Development Practice
Center for Latin American Studies
Center for African Studies
466 Grinter Hall
P.O. Box 115560
Gainesville, FL 32611-5560
E-mail: ggalloway@latam.ufl.edu
Tel: 352-392-3292
Fax: 352-392-3296

Biography        Curriculum Vitae 


Rebecca Hanson

Assistant Professor
Center for Latin American Studies
Department of Sociology, Criminology, and Law
Turlington 3360
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: r.hanson@ufl.edu 
Tel: 352-294-7191
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae


Karen Kainer

Professor
Center for Latin American Studies
School of Forest Resources & Conservation
210 Newins-Ziegler Hall
P.O. Box 110410
Gainesville, FL 32611-0410
E-mail: kkainer@ufl.edu
Tel: 352-846-0833
Fax: 352-846-1277

Biography        Curriculum Vitae 


Bette Loiselle

Director, Tropical Conservation and Development Program
Professor, Center for Latin American Studies
Department of Wildlife Ecology and Conservation
347 Grinter Hall
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
Email: bloiselle@latam.ufl.edu
Tel: 352-273-4706, 352-846-0592 
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae


Carmen Martínez Novo

Professor
Center for Latin American Studies
Grinter Hall
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
Email: m.martineznovo@ufl.edu 
Tel: 352-273-4716
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae


Timothy M. Murtha

Associate Professor
Center for Latin American Studies
College of Design, Construction and Planning
432 Architecture Building
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: tmurtha@ufl.edu 
Tel: 352-273-4705
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae


Susan Paulson

Associate Director of Academic Affairs
Professor
Center for Latin American Studies
301 Grinter Hall
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: spaulson@latam.ufl.edu
Tel: 352-273-4730
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae


Rosana Resende

Associate Director, Florida-Brazil Linkage Institute
Undergraduate Coordinator and Lecturer
Center for Latin American Studies
358 Grinter Hall
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: rresende@latam.ufl.edu
Tel: 352-273-4714
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae 


Mary Risner

Associate Director, Outreach and Business Programs
Project Manager, Florida-Brazil Linkage Institute
Center for Latin American Studies
370A Grinter Hall
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: mrisner@latam.ufl.edu
Tel: 352-273-4723
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae 


Tanya Saunders

Associate Professor 
Center for Latin American Studies
Center for Gender, Sexualities, and Women's Studies Research
368 Grinter Hall
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: tanyasau@latam.ufl.edu
Tel: 352-273-4721 
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae 


John Richard Stepp

Professor
Center for Latin American Studies
Department of Anthropology
1112 Turlington Hall
P.O. Box 117305
Gainesville, FL 32611-7305
E-mail: stepp@ufl.edu
Tel: 352-392-0299
Fax: 352-392-6929

Biography        Curriculum Vitae


Carlos A. Suárez Carrasquillo

Senior Lecturer
Director of Master and Graduate Certificate in Latin American Studies
Center for Latin American Studies
Department of Political Science
319F Grinter Hall
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: casuarez@latam.ufl.edu 
Tel: 352-273-4724
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography      Curriculum Vitae


Welson Tremura

Professor
Center for Latin American Studies
College of Music
382 Grinter Hall
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: tremura@ufl.edu
Tel: 352-273-4728
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae


Catherine Tucker

Professor
Center for Latin American Studies
Department of Anthropology
309 Grinter Hall
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: tuckerc@ufl.edu
Tel: 352-392-0690
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography


Pilar Useche

Associate Professor
Center for Latin American Studies
Department of Food and Resource Economics
1091 McCarty Hall
P.O. Box 110240
Gainesville, FL 32611-0240
E-mail: useche@ufl.edu
Tel: 352-392-1826 ext. 430
Fax: 352-846-0988

Biography


Nicholas Vargas

Associate Professor
Center for Latin American Studies
Department of Sociology, Criminology, and Law
360 Grinter Hall
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: nicholas.vargas@latam.ufl.edu
Tel: 352-392-4672
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae


Robert T. Walker

Professor
Center for Latin American Studies
Department of Geography
319 Grinter Hall,
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
Email: roberttwalker@ufl.edu
Tel: 352-392-0494

Biography        Curriculum Vitae


Emeritus Faculty

Carmen Diana Deere

Distinguished Professor Emerita
Center for Latin American Studies
Food and Resource Economics Department
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: deere@latam.ufl.edu

Biography        Curriculum Vitae


Terry McCoy

Professor Emeritus
Center for Latin American Studies
Department of Political Science
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
Email: tlmccoy@latam.ufl.edu

Biography        Curriculum Vitae


Marianne Schmink

Professor Emerita and Distinguished Teaching Scholar
Center for Latin American Studies
Department of Anthropology
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail:schmink@ufl.edu 

Biography        Curriculum Vitae 


Philip J. Williams

Professor Emeritus of Political Science
Center for Latin American Studies
Department of Political Science
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: pjw@calpoly.edu

Biography        Curriculum Vitae


Charles H. Wood

Professor Emeritus
Center for Latin American Studies
Department of Sociology, Criminology, and Law
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
Email: cwood@latam.ufl.edu

Biography        Curriculum Vitae