Center-Based Faculty

The UF Center for Latin American Studies has 20 Center-based faculty members and professional staff with expertise in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. We encourage you to look through our faculty profiles below.

Philip J. Williams

Director, Center for Latin American Studies
Professor, Political Science
319 Grinter Hall
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: PJW@latam.ufl.edu
Tel: 352-273-4705
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae


EfraĆ­n Barradas

Professor, Spanish/Latin American Studies
Center for Latin American Studies
364 Grinter Hall
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: barradas@ufl.edu
Tel: 352-392-5235
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae


Emilio M. Bruna

Professor, Latin American Studies/Wildlife Ecology and Conservation 
Center for Latin American Studies
380 Grinter Hall
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: embruna@ufl.edu
Tel: 352-846-0634
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae


Jonathan Dain

Professional Skills Coordinator
Tropical Conservation & Development Program
Center for Latin American Studies
388 Grinter Hall
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
Email: jdain@latam.ufl.edu 
Tel: 352-273-4713
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae 


Glenn Galloway

Director, Master in Sustainable Development Program
Center for Latin American Studies/Center for African Studies
466 Grinter Hall
P.O. Box 115560
Gainesville, FL 32611-5560
E-mail: ggalloway@latam.ufl.edu
Tel: 352-392-3292
Fax: 352-392-3296

Biography        Curriculum Vitae 


Karen Kainer

Associate Professor, Forest Resources & Conservation/Latin American Studies
Center for Latin American Studies
210 Newins-Ziegler Hall
P.O. Box 110410
Gainesville, FL 32611-0410
E-mail: kkainer@ufl.edu
Tel: 352-846-0833
Fax: 352-846-1277

Biography        Curriculum Vitae 


Bette Loiselle

Director, Tropical Conservation and Development Program
Center for Latin American Studies &
Professor, Department of Wildlife Ecology and Conservation
347 Grinter Hall
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
Email: bloiselle@latam.ufl.edu
Tel: 352-273-4706, 352-846-0592 
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae


Susan Paulson

Associate Director
Center for Latin American Studies
319F Grinter Hall
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: spaulson@latam.ufl.edu
Tel: 352-273-4730
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae


Rosana Resende

Undergraduate Adviser, Lecturer,
Associate Director FBLI
Center for Latin American Studies
358 Grinter Hall
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: rresende@latam.ufl.edu
Tel: 352-273-4714
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae 


Mary Risner

Associate Director, Outreach and Business Programs
Project Manager, Florida/Brazil Institute
Center for Latin American Studies
370A Grinter Hall
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: mrisner@latam.ufl.edu
Tel: 352-273-4723
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae 


Tanya Saunders

Associate Professor 
Center for Latin American Studies
368 Grinter Hall
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: tanyasau@latam.ufl.edu
Tel: 352-273-4721 
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae 


Marianne Schmink

Professor Emerita and Distinguished Teaching  Scholar, Latin  American  Studies/Anthropology
Center for Latin American Studies
301 Grinter Hall
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail:schmink@ufl.edu 
Tel: 352-273-4724
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae 


John Richard Stepp

Associate Professor, Anthropology/Latin American Studies
Center for Latin American Studies
1112 Turlington Hall
P.O. Box 117305
Gainesville, FL 32611-7305
E-mail: stepp@ufl.edu
Tel: 352-392-0299
Fax: 352-392-6929

Biography        Curriculum Vitae


Welson Tremura

Associate Professor, Music/Latin American Studies
Center for Latin American Studies
382 Grinter Hall
P.O. Box 115530
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: tremura@ufl.edu
Tel: 352-273-4728
Fax: 352-392-7682

Biography        Curriculum Vitae


Catherine Tucker

Associate Professor
Center for Latin American Studies
Department of Anthropology
309 Grinter Hall
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: tuckerc@ufl.edu
Fax: 352-392-4672
Phone: 352-392-0690

Biography


Pilar Useche

Associate Professor, Latin American Studies/Food and Resource Economics
Center for Latin American Studies
Department of Food and Resource Economics
1091 McCarty Hall
P.O. Box 110240
Gainesville, FL 32611-0240
E-mail: useche@ufl.edu
Tel: 352-392-1826 ext. 430
Fax: 352-846-0988

Biography


Nicholas Vargas

Assistant Professor
Center for Latin American Studies
Department of Sociology
360 Grinter Hall
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
E-mail: nicholas.vargas@latam.ufl.edu
Tel: 352-273-4705
Fax: 352-392-4672

Biography


Robert T. Walker

Professor, Department of Geography
Faculty, Center for Latin American Studies
319 Grinter Hall,
Gainesville, FL 32611-5530
Email: roberttwalker@ufl.edu
Tel: 352-392-0494

Biography