

Fredric G. Levin College of LawCenter for Governmental Responsibility

Spessard L. Holland Law Center 230 Bruton-Geer Hall Gainesville, FL 32611-7629 352-273-0835 352-392-1457 Fax

For Release May 11, 2015

CGR Conference Honors Williams

Philip J. Williams, Director of the University of Florida Center for Latin American Studies, has been selected as the recipient of the 2015 "Jon Mills Award for Significant Contributions to Relations Between Florida and the Americas". Mills presented Williams with the award during the Center for Governmental Responsibility's (CGR) 16th annual Conference on Legal and Policy Issues in the Americas, held May 11 at the Levin College of Law.

"Phil has worked to further the goals of our conference in contributing to relations between Florida and the Americas," Mills said. "He has been our partner on a major federal grant to encourage human rights programs in law schools in the Colombian Caribbean for three years. As this grant concludes, his tireless endeavors have led to the success of the project."

Williams also is a Professor of Political Science at UF. He assisted CGR in organizing the annual Americas conference in 2013-2015. He received his master's degree in Latin American Studies and doctorate in Politics from the University of Oxford.

In addition to the Colombia project, Williams co-directs the Program for Immigration, Religion, and Social Change. He is widely published and his scholarly work has appeared in numerous edited volumes and journals. He has received a number of prestigious fellowships and grants.

Previous winners of the Mills award include: Raul E. Valdes-Fauli, Miami, Florida; Kenneth H. (Buddy) MacKay, Jr., Ocala, Florida; Alejandro Ogarrio, Mexico City, Mexico; Paulo Roberto Pereira de Souza, Maringá, Brazil; Michael Wallace Gordon, Gainesville, Florida; María Luisa Beltranena, Guatemala City, Guatemala; Jorge Santistevan de Noriega, Lima, Peru; Elizabeth Lowe & Terry McCoy, Gainesville, Florida; Daniela Trejos Vargas, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil; and Peter J. Messitte, Greenbelt, Maryland; Stephen N. Zack, Miami, Florida; Luis María Palma, Buenos Aires, Argentina; Saint-Clair Honorato Santos, Curitiba, Brazil; Timothy McLendon, Gainesville, Florida; El Centro de Derechos Humanos del Caribe – Universidad del Norte, Barranquilla, Colombia; and El Centro de Derechos Humanos del Caribe – Universidad del Magdalena, Santa Marta, Colombia.